Fixing WiFi issues on openSUSE 11.2

Wireless connectivity issues seem to plague all major Linux distributions (at least the ones that I’ve tried recently!). This evening, I installed openSUSE 11.2 (KDE) and ran into the same issue that I had reported with Ubuntu Karmic Koala a few weeks back. The WiFi connection would die on its own a few minutes into the session.

This time, fortunately, I was able to solve the issue through a simple tweak — disabling IPv6. Here are the steps I followed:

  1. Click The Chamaleon Icon > Computer > YaST.
  2. In the YaST Control Center, click Network Devices > Network Settings.
  3. On the Global Settings tab in the Network Settings dialog box, deselect Enable IPv6.
  4. Click OK.
  5. When prompted, restart the system.

I’d strongly suggest you try disabling IPv6 if you’re facing similar issues with any Linux distribution.

Why did I give up on Ubuntu and Kubuntu, and choose openSuSE as my desktop distro? Well, I’ll try to cover that in a separate post.

Later, then!

3 comments so far

  1. Rahul Joshi on

    Interesting to see you’ve switched loyalties! 😛
    I just hope it wasn’t because of Karmic Koala? I know it sucks balls a little 😉

    Lucid Lynx FTW!

  2. Samartha Vashishtha on

    Thanks, Rahul. It was actually Lucid Lynx that prompted me to make the switch to openSUSE. I’d been facing a strange problem with Lucid–my computer wouldn’t shut down; it would only restart even when I tried to shut it down.

    Tired of halting from the GRUB prompt, I thought it wise to ditch Ubuntu!

  3. Rahul Joshi on

    That is indeed strange. Maybe an incompatible BIOS/CMOS or their config setting? But eh whatever works!

    Linux FTW! (actually) 😀


Leave a Reply

